A valid passport and a visa are required for the citizens of most countries to travel through Iran. However, since 2006, the rules have been eased, and VOA has become available for certain nationalities.

VOAs are issued at the selected airports in Iran. These airports are Imam Khomeini in Tehran and Mashhad, Shiraz, Tabriz, and Isfahan ONLY. The visa is valid for up to 14 days and costs 50 Euros (plus 10 Euros for each companion in your passport). You will receive the forms on arrival. You are advised to present the following documents:

  1. A valid passport with at least six months of validity.
  2. pieces of 1 in 1-inch pictures
  3. A confirmed return ticket
  4. A form that the applicant must complete at the airport.
Iran Visa on Arrival

Visas are issued at the airports mentioned above for the following nationalities:

Albania, Armenia, Austria, Australia, Bahrain, Belarus, Belgium, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Brunei, Bulgaria, China, Colombia, Croatia, Cuba, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Egypt, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hong Kong, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Kazakhstan, Democratic People’s Republic of Korea, Republic of Korea, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Lebanon, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Mexico, Moldova, Mongolia, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Norway, Oman, Palestine, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Romania, Russian Federation, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Tajikistan, Thailand, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, Uzbekistan, Venezuela, Vietnam.


  • Citizens of Syria, Turkey, Malaysia, and the Republic of Azerbaijan do NOT require a visa to enter Iran.
  • Visas on arrival are extendable for up to 14 days, but this extension is not guaranteed. We strongly recommend you apply for a regular tourist visa (valid for three months) at an Iranian embassy through our Visa services if you intend to stay longer than 14 days.